Sanjeev Thapa re-elected NRCS Chairperson

The General Assembly of Nepal Red Cross Society (NRCS) has been concluded in Dhangadhi, Kailali electing a new central executive body under the leadership of Mr. Sanjiv Thapa for the third time. He was elected unopposed.

Elections for twenty two members of Central Executive Committee also took place during the General Assembly held in 2015 from 11 to 14 April. 100 per cent of delegates were participating in the election process.

The newly elected members are: Uttam Joshi, Manoj Kumar Thapa, Dev Ratna Dhakhwa, Kamala Giri, Hari Prasad Neupane, Sudarshan Prasad Nepal, Surendra Singh Ayer, Ajit Kumar Sharma, Bhagawati Sharma, Lalit Jung Shahi, Saput Bahadur Karki, Tilak Bahadur Malla, Devendra Bahadur Pradhan, Bhupati Lal Shrestha, Bishnu Raj Nepal, Sanat kumar Karki, Hari Niraula, Mahendra Prasad Singh, Krishna Prasad Neupane, Bhakta Khawas, Surya Chandra Neupane and Brikesh Singh Bogati.

Mr. Thapa, newly elected chairman, expressed his commitment to raise the height of humanitarian work through more humanitarian diplomacy with the government and stakeholders. He added, "Issues of the vulnerable community and disaster affected people are the central focus for Nepal Red Cross." The first meeting of the newly elected body thanked Kailali district chapter for the excellent management locally and the election committee led by Rameshowar Upadahaya for neutral and remarkable performance.

Earlier, the assembly reviewed budget and programme of past fiscal year and accepted the budget and programmes for coming year. Community health promotion, disaster and crisis management and organizational capacity enhancement were declared as priority activity areas. 600 thousands Nepali rupees were collected by the district chapters and individuals for treatment fund for Red Cross volunteers.

The General Assembly was participated by representatives from all 75 districts of Nepal and development partners including International Committee of the Red Cross, Partner National Societies as well as International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies. Chief District Officer and Local Development Officer of Kailali, Representatives of Nepal Government, wished the success of assembly in the inaugural ceremony. Chairman of NRCS Sanjiv Thapa inagurated the ceremony in the first day which was chaired by Uttam Joshi, president of the Kailali chapter.

During the GA, prizes were distributed to best performer district chapters in different category. Additionally, the volunteer award and best employee award was also conferred to individuals who made remarkable efforts and achievements to the benefit of the NRCS. Parsa stood first within district chapters while Kaski and Chitwan district chapters took second and third prizes.Awarded volunteers were Rajendra Man Talchabhadel, Goverdhan prasad Singh Chhetri, Falguni Sharma Timilsena, Gehendreshor Koirala and Him kanta Sharma Neupane, whereas Mr. Narayan Lamichhane was declared as best employee of the year.

The GA, concluded in 14th April, is the supreme body of the organization.